Rethinking ways to overcome poverty: J-PAL scientific and methodological workshop started on CERR platform

Rethinking ways to overcome poverty: J-PAL scientific and methodological workshop started on CERR platform

J-PAL, founded by Nobel laureates Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo, together with CERR, organized a workshop to assist in the development and testing of innovative approaches in cooperation with the Government of Uzbekistan to improve the effectiveness of state programs to combat poverty.

On May 10, 2022, the Center for Economic Research and Reforms (CERR) hosted a scientific and methodological workshop on the topic: "J-PAL and Uzbekistan: the beginning of partnership and sharing experiences in the fight against poverty", with the aim of studying the world's best practices and methods of combating poverty, forming priority areas for future joint research with special emphasis on social protection, employment and entrepreneurship issues as well as education.

The event was opened by the CERR Director Dr. Obid Khakimov, who addressed all participants with a welcoming speech. He noted that the fight against poverty and the organization of social protection are in the focus of the state's attention and a lot of work has been done in this direction in the country over the past 5 years. In particular, he recalled the relevant Decrees and Resolutions of the Head of State aimed at further strengthening social protection of vulnerable segments of the population; the launch of the new “makhallabay” system in Uzbekistan, as well as one of the main goals of the Strategy of New Uzbekistan – reducing the poverty level in the country by half by 2026.

Cillian Nolan, Policy Director of J-PAL Europe, noted that the purpose of the visit to Uzbekistan is to provide technical support in research that can form the basis of the state's anti–poverty programs and study the impact and effectiveness of such programs.

"We are in Uzbekistan to organize a workshop that will help assess the effectiveness of various measures to combat poverty, whether these methods have helped to achieve poverty reduction goals, increase access to education, create jobs and positively affect the well-being of the population," the expert said.

During the workshop, many interesting questions were received from the audience, in particular about how the research data can be applied.

"The study itself cannot change the policy, but it can make it clear to us whether the program is working or not and, in the future, have an impact on making changes to such programs.

Our goal in Uzbekistan is to provide technical support, to consider studies that can form the basis of the state's programs to combat poverty, to study the impact and effectiveness of such programs, to evaluate them in order to provide answers to the questions of citizens, as well as ministries and departments responsible for poverty reduction," noted Cillian Nolan, Policy Director of J-PAL Europe.

During the workshop, J-PAL experts told the participants about the basics of the methodology on which research work in the laboratory is based and how the results of projects carried out in various countries to combat poverty and organize social protection over time are evaluated. In particular, the presentation cited the experience of Peru, India, South Africa, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia and Turkey.

Special focus was paid to evaluating the results of ongoing projects over time. As noted by Karla Petersen, Evidence to Scale Manager at J-PAL Global and Policy Manager at J-PAL Europe, "assessing the impact of certain projects that J-PAL is implementing in various countries takes from 6 months to two or more years, and it is not always possible to predict in advance whether these measures will have a positive effect or it would be better to leave this process to proceed on its own, because the negative effect from the actions taken is also possible."

"There are no guarantees that the projects adopted and successfully proved themselves in one country will be as successful in another, even taking into account similar factors in both countries. Each country needs an individual approach," Karla Petersen said.

During the discussion, J-PAL experts and participants of the event agreed that, first of all, it is important to conduct preliminary studies of the current situation in the country, as well as to study the measures already taken and launched initiatives for social protection and combating poverty in the republic in order to objectively assess and predict the potential impact of additional actions that may recommend J-PAL.

Methods and possibilities of collecting up-to-date information on the calculation of the number of people in need, the role of the state in the implementation of incentive measures for social protection as well as ways of collecting analytics and calculating the dynamics of the consequences of the measures taken were also actively discussed. In conclusion, the workshop participants exchanged contacts with J-PAL experts and agreed to exchange relevant information in order to begin forming priority areas for future joint research in the coming years.

PR Service, CERR


Share this post

Similar news

Переосмысление способов преодоления бедности: на платформе ЦЭИР начал работу научно-методический семинар J-PAL

Переосмысление способов преодоления бедности: на платформе ЦЭИР начал работу научно-методический семинар J-PAL

J-PAL, основанная лауреатами Нобелевской премии Абхиджитом Банерджи и Эстер Дюфло, совместно с ЦЭИР, организовали семинар для содействия в разработке и апробированию инновационных подходов в сотрудничестве с правительством Узбекистана для повышения эффективности госпрограмм по борьбе с бедностью.

10-11 мая 2022 года в Центре экономических исследований и реформ (ЦЭИР) состоялся научно-методический семинар на тему: "J-PAL и Узбекистан: начало сотрудничества и обмена опытом по борьбе с бедностью", с целью изучения лучших мировых практик и методов борьбы с бедностью, формирования приоритетных направлений для будущих совместных исследований с особым акцентом на социальную защиту, вопросы трудоустройства и предпринимательства, а также образования.

Открыл мероприятие директор ЦЭИР д-р Обид Хакимов, который с приветственным словом обратился ко всем участникам. Он отметил, что борьба с бедностью и организация социальной защиты находятся в центре внимания государства и за последние 5 лет в стране проделана огромная работа в этом направлении. В частности, он напомнил о соответствующих Указах и Постановлениях главы государства, направленных на дальнейшее усиление социальной защиты уязвимых слоев населения; о запуске новой системы «махаллабай» в Узбекистане, а также об одной из главных целей Стратегии Нового Узбекистана - сокращении уровня бедности в стране вдвое к 2026 году.

Киллиан Нолан, директор по политике J-PAL Europe отметил, что цель визита в Узбекистан – оказание техподдержки в исследованиях, которые смогут лечь в основу программ государства по борьбе с бедностью и изучение влияния и эффективности таких программ.

«Мы находимся в Узбекистане для организации семинара, который поможет оценить эффективность различных мер по борьбе с бедностью, помогли ли эти методы достичь целей по сокращению бедности, повысить доступ к образованию, создать рабочие места и положительно повлиять на благосостояние населения», - отметил эксперт.

Во время семинара со стороны слушателей было задано много интересных вопросов, в частности о том, как можно применить данные исследования.

«Само исследование не может изменить политику, но оно может дать понять нам работает программа или нет и в дальнейшем оказать влияние на внесение изменений в такие программы.

Наша цель в Узбекистане – оказать техподдержку, рассматривать исследования, которые смогут лечь в основу программ государства по борьбе с бедностью, изучать влияние и эффективность таких программ, оценивать их, чтобы предоставить ответы на вопросы граждан, а также министерств и ведомств, ответсвенных за сокращение бедности», – отвечая на вопросы, подчеркнул Киллиан Нолан, директор по политике J-PAL Europe.

В ходе семинара, эксперты J-PAL рассказали присуствующим участникам об основах методологии, на которой базируется исследовательская работа в лаборатории и как происходит оценка результатов проводимых в различных странах проектов по борьбе с бедностью и организации социальной защиты с течением времени. В частности, в презентации приводился опыт Перу, Индии, Южной Африки, Индонезии, Саудовской Аравии и Турции.

Особое внимание было посвящено оценке результатов проводимых проектов с течением времени. Как отметила Карла Петерсен, менеджер по масштабированию фактических данных в J-PAL Global и менеджер по политике в J-PAL Europe, «оценка влияния тех или иных проектов, которые осуществляет J-PAL в различных странах занимает от 6 месяцев до двух и более лет, и не всегда возможно заранее предсказать, будут ли эти меры иметь положительный эффект или лучше бы было оставить этот процесс протекать своим ходом, ведь возможен и обратный, негативный эффект от принимаемых действий».

«Нет никаких гарантий, что принятые и успешно показавшие себя проекты в одной стране будут такими же успешными и в другой, даже с учетом схожих в обеих странах факторов. К каждой стране необходим индивидуальный подход», - отметила Карла Петерсен.

В ходе обсуждения эксперты J-PAL и участники мероприятия сошлись во мнении, что, в первую очередь, важно провести предварительные исследования текущей ситуации в стране, а также изучить уже принятые меры и запущенные инициативы по соцзащите и борьбе с бедностью в республике, чтобы объективно оценить и спрогнозировать потенциальное воздействие от дополнительных действий, которые может порекомендовать J-PAL.

Также активно обсуждались методы и возможности сбора актуальной информации о подсчете количества нуждающихся, роли государства в имплементации стимулирующих мер по социальной защите, а также способах сбора аналитики и расчетах динамики последствий принимаемых мер. В заключении, участники семинара обменялись контактами с экспертами J-PAL и договорились об обмене актуальной информацией с целью начать формирование приоритетных направлений для будущих совместных исследований в ближайшие годы.

Служба по связям с общественностью ЦЭИР


Поделиться постом

Похожие новости