J-PAL and Uzbekistan: the beginning of partnership and sharing experiences in the fight against poverty

J-PAL and Uzbekistan: the beginning of partnership and sharing experiences in the fight against poverty

On May 10-11, 2022, the Center for Economic Research and Reforms (CERR) and J-PAL Europe / Paris School of Economics (PSE) organize the research and policy workshop on the "J-PAL and Uzbekistan: the beginning of partnership and sharing experiences in the fight against poverty".

It will bring together leaders and representatives of state bodies responsible for the development and implementation of anti-poverty policies, foreign experts and representatives of scientific and expert-analytical areas.

Uzbekistan has started an active work against poverty and is forming comprehensive approaches to overcome it.

The reform program in Uzbekistan has been adjusted over the past two years to respond to the negative consequences caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The implementation of measures to strengthen social protection and reduce poverty has been accelerated in order to preserve the lives of citizens and their well-being. At present, huge attention is being paid to the development of healthcare and education.

In recent years in the field of social support, "iron", "women" and "youth notebooks" and methods of work in the context of makhallas (the "Makhallabay" system) have been introduced. The number of families covered by social protection has doubled and their financial security has increased. Child benefits for low-income families were introduced, at the same time the age limit for children was increased from 14 to 18 years and the period of payment of benefits from 6 months to 1 year. According to the World Bank, about 5.2 million people in Uzbekistan received financial assistance during the pandemic.

The task has been set to completely eradicate extreme poverty by the end of 2026, to reduce the level of relative poverty by 2 times. In addition, measures will be taken to reduce income inequality from the level of in 7 times in 2020 to the 4-5 times in 2026.

During a meeting with representatives of the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL), organized on the initiative of the Center for Economic Research and Reforms (CERR), representatives of J-PAL noted there are more than 260 affiliated researchers around the world who have worked in areas relevant to Uzbekistan’s policy priorities.

For the record: J-PAL is a global research center founded at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

J-PAL, which was founded by Nobel Prize winners Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo, is organizing a research and policy workshop along with CERR to promote the designing and testing innovations in cooperation with the Government of Uzbekistan to increase the impact of their programs to combat poverty.

In respect that Uzbekistan is at the initial stage of formation and development of integrated approaches to overcoming poverty, it is extremely important to study existing global evidence in combating poverty to inform the government’s programs.

During the workshop, representatives from J-PAL will share the learnings from randomized evaluations relevant to Uzbekistan's experience in combating poverty and discuss opportunities for developing further evidence-based programs.

The goal of the event is to study the world's best practices and methods of combating poverty and to form priority areas for future joint research in the coming years with a special focus on social protection, employment and entrepreneurship as well as education.

In particular, it is planned to study the experience of randomized control trials of social programs of various governments, the best practices of research processes (methodology and procedures of scientific activity) and to discuss the potential for the research partnership with specialists affiliated with J-PAL.

The following topics will be studied during the workshop:

  1. Strengthening social protection and targeting (multi-faceted programs to provide funds to the poor).
  2. Improving the quality of training programs in the labor market (skills training, reducing search barriers, promoting international labor migration).
  3. Support for the growth of small enterprises (identification and support of highly effective entrepreneurs).
  4. Expanding access to high-quality education (costs and incentives, healthy nutrition, increased motivation of students, development of instructions and introduction of advanced technologies).

Participants of the event will be able to get acquainted with J-PAL studies adapted to the priorities of the anti-poverty policies in Uzbekistan, study international experience in combating poverty and the implementation of best practices.

All media representatives and bloggers are invited to the event.

We ask everyone who desires to take part in the workshop to take an identity document with you and register through our employee via telegram.

PR Service, CERR

Share this post

Similar news

J-PAL и Узбекистан: начало сотрудничества и обмена опытом по борьбе с бедностью

J-PAL и Узбекистан: начало сотрудничества и обмена опытом по борьбе с бедностью

10-11 мая 2022г. Центр экономических исследований и реформ (ЦЭИР) совместно с J-PAL Europe / Парижская школа экономики (ПШЭ) организует научно-методический семинар на тему: "J-PAL и Узбекистан: начало сотрудничества и обмена опытом по борьбе с бедностью".

Научно-методический семинар-тренинг соберет на одной площадке руководителей и представителей государственных органов, ответственных за разработку и реализацию политики по борьбе с бедностью, зарубежных экспертов и представителей научных и экспертно-аналитических кругов.

Узбекистан начал активную работу по борьбе с бедностью и формирует комплексные подходы по ее преодолению. Программа реформ в последние два года была скорректирована для реагирования на негативные последствия, вызванные пандемией COVID-19. Реализация мер по усилению социальной защиты и сокращению бедности была ускорена с целью сохранения жизни граждан и их благополучия. Большее внимание уделяется сегодня развитию здравоохранения и образования.

В последние годы в области оказания социальной поддержки были внедрены «железные», «женские» и «молодежные тетради», методы работы в разрезе махаллей (система «махаллабай»), удвоилось количество семей, охваченных социальной защитой, и увеличена их финансовая защищенность. Были введены детские пособия для малообеспеченных семей, при этом возрастной ценз для детей увеличен с 14 до 18 лет, срок выплаты пособий с 6 месяцев до 1 года. По данным Всемирного банка, в Узбекистане около 5,2 миллиона человек получили финансовую помощь во время пандемии.

Поставлена задача к концу 2026 года полностью искоренить крайнюю бедность, снизить уровень относительной бедности в 2 раза. Кроме того, будут приняты меры по снижению неравенства доходов с 7 раз в 2020 году до 4-5 раз в 2026 году.

В ходе встречи с представителями Лаборатории по борьбе с бедностью имени Абдула Латифа Джамиля (J-PAL), организованной по инициативе Центра экономических исследований и реформ (ЦЭИР), представители J-PAL отметили о наличии 260 аффилированных исследователей по всему миру, которые работали в областях, схожих с приоритетными направлениями Узбекистана по борьбе с бедностью.

Справочно: J-PAL – это глобальный исследовательский центр, образованный в Массачусетском технологическом институте.

J-PAL, основанная лауреатами Нобелевской премии Абхиджитом Банерджи и Эстер Дюфло, совместно с ЦЭИР, организует семинар для содействия в разработке и апробированию инновационных подходов в сотрудничестве с правительством Узбекистана для повышения эффективности госпрограмм по борьбе с бедностью.

Учитывая, что Узбекистан находится на начальном этапе формирования и разработки комплексных подходов по преодолению бедности, крайне важным является изучение имеющегося глобального опыта в борьбе с бедностью для его учета в госпрограммах Узбекистана.

В ходе семинара, представители J-PAL поделятся выводами, полученными из различных исследований, которые могут быть релеватны для борьбы с бедностью в Узбекистане, и обсудят возможности для разработки дальнейших программ, основанных на фактических данных.

Цель мероприятия — изучение лучших мировых практик и методов борьбы с бедностью, формирование приоритетных направлений для будущих совместных исследований на ближайшие годы с особым акцентом на социальную защиту, трудоустройство и предпринимательство, а также образование.

В частности, планируется изучение опыта рандомизированных контрольных испытаний социальных программ различных правительств, лучших практик исследовательских процессов (методология и процедуры научной деятельности), обсуждение потенциала исследовательского партнерства со специалистами аффилированными с J-PAL.

В ходе семинара будут изучены следующие темы:

  1. Усиление социальной защиты и таргетинга (многогранные программы обеспечения средствами бедных).
  2. Повышение качества программ обучения на рынке труда (профессиональное обучение, снижение поисковых барьеров, содействие международной трудовой миграции).
  3. Поддержка роста малых предприятий (выявление и поддержка высокоэффективных предпринимателей).
  4. Расширение доступа к высококачественному образованию (затраты и стимулы, здоровое питание, повышение мотивации учащихся, выработка инструкций и внедрение передовых технологий).

Участники мероприятия смогут ознакомиться с исследованиями J-PAL, адаптированными под приоритеты проводимой в Узбекистане политики по борьбе с бедностью, изучить международный опыт в борьбе с бедностью и имплементацию лучших международных практик.

На мероприятие приглашаются все представители СМИ и блогеры.

Просим всех, кто изъявил желание принять участие в научном семинаре, прийти с документом, удостоверяющим личность и пройти регистрацию через нашего сотрудника в телеграм.

Служба по связям с общественностью ЦЭИР

Поделиться постом

Похожие новости